Five Chaps Earn NCBWA All-Region Honors

Lubbock, Texas – Five members of the Lubbock Christian University baseball team have been honored with spots on the National Collegiate Baseball Writer’s Association (NCBWA) Division II South Central All-Region teams. Carson Ogilvie and Head Coach Nathan Blackwood highlight the selections for the Chaps.

Adding to his impressive resume, Ogilvie is named NCBWA South Central Regional Player of the Year and is a member of the All-Region First Team. The Spring, Texas native is batting .423 and ranks in the top-5 in the nation in doubles (24), hits (94), runs (82), runs per game (1.49), total bases (168) and triples (7 ). He also hit 12 home runs, drove in 63 runs and stole 22 bases. Ogilvie was named Most Valuable Player of the LSC Tournament last weekend.

Coach Blackwood was named NCBWA South Central Region Coach of the Year after leading the Chaps to a 41-14 record and winning the 2024 Lone Star Conference Championship. Blackwood led the Chaps to their second consecutive NCAA Regional appearance and fifth since joining the NCAA in 2014.

Joining Ogilvie on the All-Region First Team are teammates Brevin McCool, Jacob GutierrezAnd Ryan Markwardt.

McCool was the Chaps’ best power bat this season, leading the team in home runs (13) and runs batted in (75). The native of Hobbs, New Mexico, is hitting .363 with 17 doubles and hitting .679. McCool’s 75 RBIs are the tenth highest in the country.

Gutierrez leads the team in batting average and enters the regional tournament with a .429 batting average (12e best in the country). To go along with his high batting average, Jacob has hit nine home runs, seven doubles, five triples and driven in 46 runs for the Chaps.

Markwardt has done nothing but win on the mound for LCU, recording 10 wins this season (eighth nationally). The junior left-hander has posted a 5.53 ERA, 1.73 WHIP and struck out 73 batters in his 70 innings of work.

2024 NCBWA South Central All-Region Teams

Player of the Year – Carson OgilvieLubbock Christian
Pitcher of the Year – Rawley Hector, UT Tyler
Trainer of the Year – Nathan BlackwoodLubbock Christian

First team
C – Tripp Clark, Angelo State
1B – Dylan Fesperman, West Texas A&M
2B – Jonathan Gonzalez, Colorado Mesa

3B – Brevin McCoolLubbock Christian
S.S. – Carson OgilvieLubbock Christian

OR – Rob Sharrar, Colorado Mesa

BY – Jacob GutierrezLubbock Christian
OR – Jesse Velders, MSU Denver
OF – Jacob Guerrero, Angelo State
DH – Zach Schuler, MSU Denver
UT – Luke Folsom, Colorado School of Mines
SP – Tyler Curtis, CSU Pueblo
SP – Rawley Hector, UT Tyler
SP – Dax Dathe, Angelo State

SP – Ryan MarkwardtLubbock Christian
RP – Ethan Sloan, Regis
RP – Caleb Heuertz, Angelo State

Second team
C – Adam Paniagua, Regis
1B – Matt Bathauer, Adams State
2B – Carson Johnson, UT Permian Basin
3B – Seth Reker, Adams State
SS – Mike Bathauer, Adams State
OR – Mason Andrews, Colorado School of Mines
OF – Nathan Carriere, UT Tyler
OR – Ethan Flodstrom, UT Permian Basin
OR – Maxim Fullerton, Regis
DH – Kory Schmidt, West Texas A&M
UT – Kyle Micklus, West Texas A&M
SP – Cole Seward, Colorado Mesa
SP – Luke Folsom, Colorado School of Mines
SP – Isaac Ponce, Texas A&M-International
SP – Brayden Ross, Arkansas-Fort Smith
RP – Ethan Voss, Colorado Mesa
RP – Reese Miller, West Texas A&M

The Chaps open the 2024 South Central Regional Tournament tomorrow night. First pitch is scheduled for 6:00 PM from Hays Field.